When Herbs Come Due.

As hopefully some of you have read my last blog piece about the ease of herbs, I focused on how simple they are to grow with minimal effort and the comparisons between herbs grown in fertilized planters to those planted in the dirt of my Queens home’s backyard.

Well I have stumbled upon a question yesterday that seems very elementary to me today.

When Do Herbs Come Due?

The basil I was contrasting a few days ago as to color, texture, leaf size and texture all the way down the list to flavor was missing a important comparative component. How many times did I clip off a few stems as the plant was reaching maturity? Regarding the basil, I did pull from the planter more times than I went to the garden for some leaves. So, were the planter basil a younger based on more regeneration? The answer as of now, I think is a Yes came to me yesterday as I was picking my parsley plants which I have never really pulled much from prior. “Who used parsley?”, I was thinking to myself as I purchased it in early May and planted it in the ground the same week. My neighbor has planted some parsley from seed l, in early July . I did closely watched its progress from my yard as I was watering.The plant grew so thick and full, from my kitchen window I could easily observe the plants progress.

My next door neighbor and I talk ‘Garden’ mostly everyday and in some cases, two to three times a day. ‘he Admirals Gardening Bio: Planting tomatoes for 30 years and had the best looking, the most abundant and the best tasting ones around. The trick he would say, is to take raw fish and plant then head to tail in line, about 18 to 22 inches under ground, dig in a straight line, so the varmints could not smell the raw fish and have a digging, eating and crop destruction party. The Admiral has many tricks up his sleeve and all of his produce that he shared with me and I can readily see,  just seem to change color in a perfectly timed manner,  ripened to its proper extent. From what has been shared with me from his harvest has been wonderful. Hyper-ripe, intense in texture, resistance to bite and delivery of natural earthy, yet city in location flavor, is, to me, hard to adequately describe in my overall enjoyment , its just so far from the bland store bought vegetables and herbs in taste and texture.

The Admiral’s celery grew to the point that he did take some trimmings which I watched from next to him. The leaves were so soft, so light in color, diffing completely from my deep green, overly sturdy and bitter, hardened parsley. To this point I had learned much from the old retired fireman about gardening so I was willing to defer my plans for my parsley harvest based on his advice.

.Image

After picking the parsley, washing it thoroughly, I placed it into a salad spinner to remove and undue moisture. This is one of the 1970’s kitchen toys that really stood the test of time, it is a staple in my kitchen and always readily accessibleImage.

 

About glenn van nostrand

Spent some years making my way around the cities and states, working, learning about new food ideas and planting and eating my share. The most pressing lesson I came away with, now that I am less nomadic, is that we all need to reject the corporate take over of our food, both dining out and shopping to bring home. No matter what size your living area, you can always grow something and enjoy the nurturing experiences of the growth to the nutritional value it gives from the table.. View all posts by glenn van nostrand

2 responses to “When Herbs Come Due.

  • 1EarthUnited

    Glen, google “compost tea”, gardener’s magic formula for the most amazing organic crops you’ll ever see and taste. Raw fish bones do the trick without the smell, native americans really knew their stuff back in the day. Thanks for the home grown advice from your savvy neighbor, Cheers!

    • glenn van nostrand

      Your so kind to take the time to email me those suggestions on both of your messages. A most sincere “thank you” from myself and my brown shadow, Sydney. Just for the record your blog is amazingly informative, well laid out and jus overall smartly balanced. I have enjoyed reading it and the message your about..

Leave a Reply

