Best Tacos in Queens. Eurika!

taco1

taco3

Taqueria Coatzingo 

 
7605 Roosevelt Ave
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
(718) 424-1977

As I bang away at the keyboard recalling last nights taco’s, I find four stars just does not give the credit that this Jackson Heights taqueria justly deserves, it is a full five star experience..

Cool color schemes in the back dining area, heavy on the bright orange and the toned down lime green makes one feel very at ease, in a romper room meets bikini bottom sort of a way.

First stop before the ordering begins, a quick visit to el bano. As I was going about my business in there, the strong smell of Clorox was in an odd way, a pleasant initial fragrance as no bacteria could survive in there. However within a few seconds my eyes began to sting as the vapors were so strong. I appreciate the cleanliness but there should have been some notification.

Each taco runs $2.50 and they pack them full with your meat choice and for no additional up-charge you get a slathering of guacamole and some Mexican white cheese sprinkled atop the guac, creating a perfect balance of flavor.
As other reviewers have pointed out the Lengua stood out and I have to agree. In my mind and to my taste buds it stood heads above the other taco’s I had ordered which were the carnitas, asada and pastor. However, comparing meats as to which is better is not very different from comparing which flavor of ice cream is better, its all personal preference. But the texture and the way the meat  dissipates in your mouth, in-part due to the vapor process, had me feeling like the lone explorer on starship coatzingo orbiting deliciousland.

Two Micheladas to drink, as I reached for my fourth taco and all was right with the world.

CASH only..

About glenn van nostrand

Spent some years making my way around the cities and states, working, learning about new food ideas and planting and eating my share. The most pressing lesson I came away with, now that I am less nomadic, is that we all need to reject the corporate take over of our food, both dining out and shopping to bring home. No matter what size your living area, you can always grow something and enjoy the nurturing experiences of the growth to the nutritional value it gives from the table.. View all posts by glenn van nostrand

Leave a Reply

