The Best Gyro in Queens

gyr

images

Fontina Famous Pizza and Gyro’s. 

20002 Northern Blvd
Bayside, NY 11361
(718) 631-0147
 
When put in the difficult position of going to a Gyro spot I have never been to before, I made haste to the door, fumbled for my keys and made a dash for the truck like gang busters. 
Once we arrived and I settled in with the help of Mytho’s, a wonderfully balanced and semi sweet Greek beer. 
“Don’t bother looking at the menu” stated my well versed foodie buddy so without hesitation, I slammed the menu shut and began the painful waiting period, all the while picturing images of Gyro, dancing in my head.
Two Gyros, well done and a side of tzatziki sauce was the order and when it arrived I was surprised by the size of the gyro. The pita was not any larger than average, yet was almost unseen behind the hunks of meat protruding from the foil. The gyro meat was literally falling out and off from all sides. 

My buddy began applying hot sauce and red pepper all over the mogul of meat, so I followed along with no hesitation. (Try it if you like your food kicked up a notch, it works.)

The hint of saltiness from the gyro meat mixed with the sharpness of fresh onion and the almost sweetness of the fresh tomato, gives me full reason to rate the gyro as a five star eating experience, having had nothing else prior to eat at Fontina’s.

 

About glenn van nostrand

Spent some years making my way around the cities and states, working, learning about new food ideas and planting and eating my share. Making my points about rejecting the corporate take over of our food source to my opinions about the New York food scene. LASTLY: No matter the size of my living area, I am always growing herbs & vegetables and enjoy the nurturing experiences of the growth to the nutritional value it gives from the table. View all posts by glenn van nostrand

Leave a Reply

