Worst Service Ever..

Jackson Diner in Jackson Heights NY.

My guess is that most all of us food lovers may have had this embarrassing experience happen to them. You have a friend you are taking out to dinner to dine at a restaurant that serves a  cuisine that is new to them, that you believe they will really enjoy. Unfortunately the experience winds up being a complete flop.

First the food fiasco:
Samosa were overly crispy and close to burnt rather than properly fried, small portion so the dumpling shell overshadowed the peas and potatoes.

The Hummus and Garlic Naan was probably the high point of the evening’s dishes which says something as it is a basic appetizer. The hummus was, in my opinion not made in house and served in a 2 oz cheap metal ramekin which went poorly with the Naan. The hot garlic atop the warm bread with cold jarred hummus just did not work well together. The Garlic Naan was overall a nice starter, if served by itself. 

The Service:
Our stubby and very disinterested server asked me if I wanted to order our entree a total of two minutes after I ordered the appetizers. It appeared this bulbous headed little individual was seeming looking to bail out of work early on his shift for the evening’s food service. In no way was this about to sway my desire to have our meals come out of the kitchen, timed to normal appetizer/ entree staggering.

To perhaps make a ‘point’ whatever the point he thought he was making was, when I was ready to order and signaled him, his eyes remained fixed on some pointless toil behind a counter taller than he, maybe it was a stack of yellow pages. Even after he was verbally instructed to attend our table our Indian Napoleon server still did not seem to have any desire to move with any level swiftness. 
The other food runners were smiling, friendly and enjoyable to deal with. where they dug this guy up from I care little to know. 
After placing the food incorrectly, I asked if it was typical for the Goat Vindaloo to be served ground up like chopped meat as opposed to on the bone. He looked me all glassy eyed and nodded as if to say yes. Wrong answer, you mixed up the meals, because you did not know the difference and tried to explain your way out. 
I really take exception to servers not knowing most everything about their menu. Take some pride in your job and learn the damn menu.
The other order, Kheema Matar, which on the web site shows $11.95 was actually $14,00 (in all fairness the menu did state the correct price) and was terrible. Minced Lamb? What part did they mince? The ears, nose and tail?  Hey, throw some under cooked peas on top and serve it up. Yuuck..

The Manager:
After witnessing the exchanges the manager came up to inquire about the meal. When I expressed in a soft tone my dissatisfaction, he calmly smiled and blamed the server error(sss) on a “simple misunderstanding”. In my restaurant you can bet I would have comped a drink or two and show legitimate concern for my customers, not brush their feelings off like crumbs left on a table.

About glenn van nostrand

Spent some years making my way around the cities and states, working, learning about new food ideas and planting and eating my share. Making my points about rejecting the corporate take over of our food source to my opinions about the New York food scene. LASTLY: No matter the size of my living area, I am always growing herbs & vegetables and enjoy the nurturing experiences of the growth to the nutritional value it gives from the table. View all posts by glenn van nostrand

Leave a Reply

