If I were a Spice, What Spice Would I Be?

pap

If I were a spice I would be Paprika.

Hot tempered and adventurous, I would lurk beneath the surface while you stir slowly. Just waiting inside the pot for that moment to singe a tasting lip, if only for a brief chuckle.

My vibrant color would ward off any foolish varmint who pressed its lips on the precious Capsicum Pepper, from which I was derived from.

But as I matured into my final stage of fine powder, I would elevate from an under appreciated spice to a force to be reckoned with. Don’t let my rich, red coloring scare nor concern you. Will you try me as a garnish or atop your deviled eggs?

Do you think I will create a heat more fearsome to taste than a stream of volcano lava poured upon your unsuspecting tongue? If only you knew me better. My intention is not to cause pain. Seething fiery breath is not my goal for those that will choose to enjoy me, I am a spice of healing. Not only beautifully vibrant in color but my genetic make up contains Vitamins C & E, I lower Hypertension and provide anti again benefits. I also have a healthy fear of wrongdoing, and I’m passionate about being a good condiment, abiding by all cabinet and spice rack laws.

Don’t look at me as some conjurer of cheap spice thrills, or one who will explode in laughter when you snarl and fan the flames of your mouth. I am really none of these. I’m just a little different; it’s just a natural instinct. Fancy yourself a dash or two of my mystery, I reward those who are loyal.

About glenn van nostrand

Spent some years making my way around the cities and states, working, learning about new food ideas and planting and eating my share. The most pressing lesson I came away with, now that I am less nomadic, is that we all need to reject the corporate take over of our food, both dining out and shopping to bring home. No matter what size your living area, you can always grow something and enjoy the nurturing experiences of the growth to the nutritional value it gives from the table.. View all posts by glenn van nostrand

Leave a Reply

